LONDON // South & Tate Modern

Last weekend I journeyed down south for the first time in roughly two years.

I was lucky enough to head down during a sporadic three-day heatwave, which led to lots of wandering around Dulwich and Brixton with friends I hadn’t seen since my university days.

Sometimes a reunion is exactly what you need to give you perspective. It brings into focus any changes between your previous and current selves. That could be recapturing a part of yourself you forgot was there, or bringing to light the positive changes you’ve made within your lifestyle.

I’m not 100% sure what this would be for myself, but I can tell you that I still got up at 8am on a Saturday to go for a run around Dulwich Park, which is not something I would have done two years ago.

We did sneak in one typical London activity – a long wander around the Tate Modern.

The last time I went to the Tate Modern, I was 11.

A rather uncultured 11 year old, as most are, who wrote off nearly everything there after not understanding the rational or context behind them.

I can hardly blame myself – most 11 year olds don’t have an extensive knowledge of Neo-impressionism or subverted pop culture iconography.

But this time around, a number of pieces resonated with me on some level.

One piece not shown here was a mock instructional video by Hito Steyerl called How Not to Be Seen: A Fucking Didactic Education, which documented a variety of ironic and humorous ways to avoid being captured by modern technology.

This came complete with Microsoft Sam voiceover, delivering rather absurd lines in its classic deadpan style to both compliment and conflict with the images seen on screen.

 

It was a shame I could only be there for a weekend.

Although its a cliche, London really does present you with a vast array of things to do. From the quintessential touristy bits, to the more luxurious (and outrageously priced) everyday things that truly encapsulate being in London.

The fact that London as a destination is still a thing for me just goes to show that, even as a Brit, it still has the ability to mesmerise and entice even those who try to resist it.

Station 1

 

Leave a Reply

